What are the Different Weight Classes in Women’s Boxing?

by admin on May 29th, 2011

There are 17 weight class divisions in women’s boxing which is the same number as in men’s boxing. In most weight classes the weight requirements for men and women do not differ, the exception being in the heavyweight division where men must top 200 pounds and women must top 175 pounds. The Super Welterweight and Cruiserweight classes apply only to men while the Junior Middleweight and Mini Flyweight classes apply only to women. The women’s weight ratings or divisions below are expressed in pounds according to the IFBA and the WIBA, both international women’s boxing regulatory agencies.

Strawweight – up to 102
Mini Flyweight – up to 105
Junior Flyweight – 105 to 108
Flyweight – 108 to 112
Super Flyweight/ Junior Bantamweight – 112 to 115
Bantamweight -115 to 118
Super Bantamweight/ Junior Featherweight – 118 to 122
Featherweight – 122 to 126
Super Featherweight/ Junior Lightweight – 126 to 130
Lightweight – 130 to 135
Super Lightweight/ Junior Welterweight – 135 to 140
Welterweight – 140 to 147
Junior Middleweight – 147 to 154
Middleweight – 154 to 160
Super Middleweight – 160 to 168
Light Heavyweight – 168 to 175
Heavyweight – over 175

The narrow differences between both men’s and women’s weight classes require that boxers maintain strict fitness standards.Still bored? Click to continue: You: Manny Pacquiao, Nonito Donaire and the Greatest Filipino Boxers of All Time

Filed under: Uncategorized
Comments Off

Comments are closed.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.