What are the Different Weight Classes in Women’s Boxing?

BY insidewo ON May 29th, 2011

There are 17 weight class divisions in women’s boxing which is the same number as in men’s boxing. In most weight classes the weight requirements for men and women do not differ, the exception being in the heavyweight division where men must top 200 pounds and women must top 175 pounds. The Super Welterweight and Cruiserweight classes apply only to men while the Junior Middleweight and Mini Flyweight classes apply only to women. The women’s weight ratings or divisions below are expressed in pounds according to the IFBA and the WIBA, both international women’s boxing regulatory agencies.
Strawweight – up to 102
Mini Flyweight – up to 105
Junior Flyweight – More..